If I am to live by one motto alone, it should be “To thine own self be true”. For most of my life, I let other peoples emotions and moods dictate how I felt. If I felt someone was mean or rude, I was upset and took it personally. I wondered what I did or what I could do to get them to like me.

Well, with age comes wisdom, that’s another motto. The older I get, the more I realize it’s not me and people are people. Some are nice and some are assholes, but chances are, they’re like that to everyone.

I work with various personalities and there are about a handful of these folks, who are like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get. One particular lady may be the most miserable person I’ve ever met. She tries to bully people to make herself feel better and is on a constant power trip. I try to avoid her as much as possible, but sometimes I have to deal with her. Today wasn’t the worst encounter, but she pissed me off. I would have loved to have had a nice extra large glass of wine tonight to de-stress but it is so not worth it. I will not let someone’s attitude get the better of me because it’s not me it’s her.

I want to be the best that I can be for myself.

Leave a Reply

