I am always drinking something.  I don’t really know why,  but a beverage is always within arms reach.  I’m not constantly thirsty, but always sipping on something.  As a kid I sucked my thumb,  started smoking at 12,  drinking in my early 20s and have gone up and down in weight.  I must be stuck in the oral stage according to Freud,  or I am a complete gluton. Old habits die hard I guess and even though I’m not having alcohol,  a non alcoholic drink is always present.

Right now my soda intake is going up again.  When I was in my teens and twenties,  I had soda all the time, diet soda- which is now actually worse for you.  I didn’t drink coffee much until my mid twenties,  diet coke was my caffeine.   I would be drinking it at 6 am on my way to work.  At one time, I was crushing 3-4 diet cokes a day and about 2 diet sprites. Over the last few years, I have cut down and at one point, was only having one 8 Oz diet Pepsi a day. Yeah, I ditched the diet coke, took the pepsi challenge and decided it actually tastes better and is less carbonated.

Anyway now that I’m not drinking alcohol at night, I’m reaching for soda and I know it’s not good for me. I should be drinking water, but it’s just so blah and boring. I really only have water if I’m exercising or in the heat. I suppose the soda is at least better than wine… it’s all baby steps.

2 thoughts on “I always have a beverage.

  1. Hi there, I found the same thing – my consumption of diet ginger beer and diet coke went sky high. I got around it by having a glass of water first and then having the soda if I still wanted it. Nine times out of ten I didn’t. But you’re right, its really boring having mostly water. I’m constantly on the look out for something more interesting that is also sugar free and won’t ruin my teeth – not easy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

