Our family vacation will be coming to a close soon. It’s been good to get away and it was great to see my mom, but I’ll be happy when we’re home. My mom and step dad moved away a little over a year ago to SC, almost into Georgia. They have a beautiful, brand new house and live in a nice area, but it’s not home. I’m a MA girl and don’t see that ever changing. My mom has been pressuring us for awhile to move and it drives me nuts. I’ve explained to her that we’re not moving, but she doesn’t seem to get it. She is the one that moved away, not I. Now that we’re leaving she keeps talking about our next year visit. Now I feel pressured that we have to take this trip every year and I’m not going to do it. I love my mom but she can really try to manipulate and then rationalize every situation. We made this trip last year and it’s very expensive, at least 2K. I just can’t afford to do this every year and I would like my husband, daughter and I to travel to new places.

We have had a good time, we went to the beach twice. We could never swim at home in May, the water here was great. At home, it’s frigid in August. We also took a day trip to the aquarium, went crabbing on the dock and had a camp fire with smores . My daughter is having a great time.

Through this whole thing, I haven’t had a drop of alcohol. This is my first vacay without. When we got here, I saw the wine rack with about 10 bottles of wine on it and almost died, but I’ve been ignoring it. I’m so proud of myself. I may have gained 5 lbs. but I haven’t drank.

One thought on “Vacation wrap up

Leave a Reply

